Some AI credentials can be earned without paying, but “free AI certification” search results often mix four different things: free lessons, a time-limited trial, a completion badge and a paid certification exam. Verify the final assessed credential and total cost before enrolling.

A current, qualified shortlist

Offer What the official source says Accurate label
OpenAI Academy Courses are free with a ChatGPT account; eligible course assessments can issue badges and eligible pathways can issue completion certificates Free learning with assessed badges or completion certificates; the Academy page says these are not certifications
IBM SkillsBuild for eligible students Free, flexible learning with shareable credentials and projects Free training and eligible digital credentials; check audience and registration requirements
Microsoft Learn modules Many self-paced modules are available without an exam payment Free preparation; Microsoft certifications and applied assessments have separate current terms
Google AI Essentials U.S. page states a seven-day trial followed by a monthly Coursera subscription Paid course after trial, not a free certification

This list was checked September 20, 2026. Provider access and regional terms can change.

Calculate the full cost

Create a ledger with course fee, exam fee, lab credits, identity verification, retake, renewal and required subscription. Enter zero only when the official page confirms it. Add study time separately so “free” does not hide a poor fit.

Worked check

Claim: “Free Azure AI certification.”

Verification: Microsoft Learn offers free study material, while the certification page lists a required exam with region-based pricing.

Correction: describe the offer as free preparation for a paid exam unless a current voucher or program explicitly covers the fee. Record voucher eligibility and expiry instead of generalizing it to every learner.

Use a zero-cost verification ledger

Put every stage on its own row. “Free” is accurate only for rows the provider confirms at zero cost for your audience and region.

Stage What to verify Write zero only when
Account and eligibility Age, country, student, employer or workspace requirements Registration is available to you without payment
Learning Course, labs and required software All required learning is free, not only the first module
Assessment Quiz, project or proctored exam The assessment itself has no fee or required subscription
Credential issuance Badge, certificate or certification record Issuing and sharing the result cost nothing
Retake Waiting period and additional attempt Another attempt is explicitly free
Renewal Expiration and continuing requirements The credential does not expire or renewal is free

Record the source URL, date checked and exact credential label beside each entry. A missing price is not stated, not zero.

Check three common claims

“OpenAI certification is free”

OpenAI Academy courses are currently free globally for people with a ChatGPT account. A course badge requires completion and at least 80% on its assessment; eligible pathway completion certificates require every course and assessment in the pathway. OpenAI states that these badges and completion certificates are not certifications. Label the result accurately.

“IBM offers a free AI credential”

IBM SkillsBuild currently describes its university offering as free and flexible, with shareable credentials and portfolio-ready projects. Check the exact learning item, audience route and credential requirements before enrolling. Do not generalize one eligible badge into a claim that every IBM certification exam is free.

“A free trial makes the certificate free”

No. A trial can cover part of a subscription course if you finish within the period, but access, cancellation timing and certificate conditions still need verification. A monthly subscription after the trial belongs in the ledger.

Walk through a real decision

Goal: a job seeker wants evidence of practical AI use and has no exam budget.

Option A: an assessed Academy course with a shareable badge. It can provide structured learning and a verified completion record, but it must not be renamed a certification.

Option B: free Microsoft Learn preparation for a certification exam. The learning may be useful, while the current region-based exam price means the certification is not free unless a valid voucher covers it.

Option C: an eligible SkillsBuild route with a digital credential and project. Verify access and the exact credential requirements for the learner’s audience.

Decision: choose the option whose assessed skill matches the target role, then build one reviewed artifact. Postpone a paid exam until a role requirement or funded program justifies the cost.

Build proof without paying

Use public or fictional inputs. For example, turn a short policy document into a source-backed employee FAQ. Define the expected answers, include two questions the source cannot answer and require the system to say not stated. Save the input, first output, correction, final output and reviewer notes.

This artifact does not become a certification. It gives a recruiter or manager something concrete to inspect beside a badge or completion record.

Decide whether the credential is useful

Check the issuer, assessment, identity controls, skill outline, sharing method and recognition in the roles you want. Then build one practical artifact. A free badge that matches your goal can be useful; an unrelated badge still consumes time.

Questions about free AI certifications

Are there completely free AI certifications?

There are free assessed badges and credentials, but availability depends on provider, audience and current terms. Verify whether the issuer calls the result a certification or a completion credential.

Is free training for a paid exam a free certification?

No. Label the learning and exam separately and include the required exam fee in the total cost.

Are digital badges useful?

They can show a completed assessment. Their value depends on the issuer, skill match and whether an employer recognizes the evidence.

Should I pay for a verified certificate?

Only after checking that the verification matters for your target role and that the assessment measures the skill you need.

Does a scholarship make a certification free?

It can make your personal cost zero if it covers every required fee. Record who is eligible, what the award covers, its expiration date and whether a retake or renewal is included. Do not describe a limited scholarship as free access for everyone.